Lifetime Achievement Award

Lifetime Achievement Award

Award description

VisionServe Alliance’s Board of Directors may recognize exceptional contributions or achievements of an actively employed, retired, or deceased individual who has made outstanding lifetime contributions to services to individuals who are blind or visually impaired.  While it has traditionally been bestowed upon chief executives of member organizations, any exceptional employee of a member organization is eligible for nomination provided that the nominee’s contributions have been significant at a local, regional, and/or national level. Nominees should act in accordance with VisionServe’s Code of Ethics. Nominators should review the VSA Code of Ethics Policy at this link.

Process for Nomination

Nominations must be initiated by a current member of the VisionServe Alliance Board of Directors. If you have someone in mind, contact a current VSA Board Member to discuss. Nominations are accepted December through February of each year. Awards will be presented each year at the annual conference.

List of previous winners

2013 Tom Miller, Blinded Veterans Association

2014 June Mansfield, Center for the Partially Sighted in Seattle

2015 Allan Brenner, Earle Baum Center in Santa Rosa, CA

          Carl Augusto, AFB

2017 Jim Phipps, The Iris Network and

          Gidget Hopf, ABVI-Goodwill

2018 Cathy Holden, NewView Oklahoma

2019 Lou Moneymaker, Bosma Enterprises

          David Ekin, St. Louis Society for the Blind and Visually Impaired

2020 (None awarded)

2021 (None awarded)

2022 (None awarded)

2023 (None awarded)